The Alexander Palace Time Machine Discussion Forum

User Info & Key Stats   
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
October 24, 2014, 11:02:02 AM
462570 Posts in 8976 Topics by 14522 Members
Latest Member: LindaAFMartin1
News: We think Pallasart is the best web design company in Austin and for good reason - they make this forum possible! Looking for a website? Call them at 512 469-7454.
+  The Alexander Palace Time Machine Discussion Forum
|-+  Discussions about Russian History
| |-+  Russian Imperial Medals, Orders, Uniforms & Militaria (Moderator: Forum Admin)
| | |-+  Semyonovski Guards
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author
Topic: Semyonovski Guards  (Read 3975 times)
« on: November 08, 2009, 01:22:34 PM »
mclisa Offline

View Profile

Could someone please give me the spelling of the name in Russian (i.e. cyrillic), and the approximate pronunciation phonetically in English, with the stress indicated?  I studied Russian, but it's been more than twenty years ago.  Because I don't know where the stress is, I can't figure out the pronumciation on my own. 

My second question concerns the regimental uniform.  I've just read a reference to Alexander I in a "green and red" Semyonovski uniform.  The accompanying portrait, where the uniform he's wearing may be a different regiment), doesn't seem to fit this descrption.  Could someone please describe the Semyonovski uniform for me?  I"m especially interested in the early 1890s.

Finally, can anyone point me toward a good source on this regiment in English?

Thank you!

mclisa 

McLisa
Reply #1
« on: November 09, 2009, 12:31:11 AM »
Mike Online
Velikye Knyaz

View Profile WWW

The regiment's Russian name is Семёновский лейб-гвардии полк. As always in such words, the stress is on the letter ё, i.e. SemYOnovskii.
Reply #2
« on: November 09, 2009, 12:41:25 PM »
Daniel Briere Offline
Graf

View Profile