The Alexander Palace Time Machine Discussion Forum
 
 User Info & Key Stats   
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
May 23, 2013, 12:25:07 AM
449381 Posts in 8707 Topics by 8186 Members
Latest Member: shvic300
News: We think Pallasart is the best web design company in Austin and for good reason - they make this forum possible! Looking for a website? Call them at 512 469-7454.
+  The Alexander Palace Time Machine Discussion Forum
|-+  Discussions about the Imperial Family and European Royalty
| |-+  The Imperial Family (Moderators: LisaDavidson, Sarushka, BobAtchison, Forum Admin, Svetabel)
| | |-+  Spurious Ebay Photos of the Imperial Family. Beware.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Go Down Print
Author
Sticky Topic Topic: Spurious Ebay Photos of the Imperial Family. Beware.  (Read 6587 times)
Reply #15
« on: November 28, 2011, 09:07:58 AM »
grandduchessella Offline
Global Moderator
Velikye Knyaz
*****
42 weeks until Bob returns from deployment Posts: 12948

View Profile WWW

Also, on his feedback all previous items are listed as "private" which shows he is covering his tracks. This is one of the reasons why i avoid eBay, unless I know the seller!

His feedback for up to one year is public. Only one person has left a negative comment (probably because you can only leave feedback if you purchase an item--not just spot fraudulent ones). That comment was about the fakery though: All his photos are fake. They are available in Moscow for $10 each. Beware buyer.

Where they can get you is that you can't force them to leave a comment/question that you send to them so there's no way to warn other potential buyers.
Logged

They also serve who only stand and wait--John Milton
Come visit on Pinterest--http://pinterest.com/lawrbk/
Reply #16
« on: December 01, 2011, 10:20:43 AM »
mishaxenia Offline
Newbie
*
Posts: 79

View Profile

I am also a collector, I am a pleasure to try and to acquire original photo of the Imperial Family,  from we admired and loved,   many vendors ebay are honest but this is a shame. They are happy for your signallings and we hope  end up these sales.
Logged
Reply #17
« on: December 01, 2011, 12:30:20 PM »
blessOTMA Offline
Velikye Knyaz
****
Tell me the truth, monsieur Posts: 2350

View Profile WWW

Thank you for this post...the items routinely go for 100's of dollars. It's criminal
Logged


"Give my love to all who remember me."

  Olga Nikolaevna
Reply #18
« on: December 15, 2011, 01:01:24 PM »
jalm Offline
Newbie
*
Posts: 29

View Profile

Beware of fake photographs - check the credibility of the seller. Why sell private and accept no returns ? Does one offer huge numbers of photographs ? Does the cardboard corrseponds with that one of the photographer who made the photo ?
People are selling photographs who look like antiques - do some research first !!
Jan
« Last Edit: December 15, 2011, 01:18:34 PM by jalm » Logged
Reply #19
« on: December 26, 2011, 02:05:23 PM »
blessOTMA Offline
Velikye Knyaz
****
Tell me the truth, monsieur Posts: 2350

View Profile WWW

This eBay seller is now offering a photo of Marie in her uniform with the  same scratches as another copy of this photo had which they sold some weeks ago.... Lord, at least put on new scratches! lol!
Logged


"Give my love to all who remember me."

  Olga Nikolaevna
Reply #20
« on: December 28, 2011, 05:39:46 AM »
mishaxenia Offline
Newbie
*
Posts: 79

View Profile

An obvious fake. Observing its auctions I have since that offering and prices are diminished . We hope in the end of these dishonest sales
Logged
Reply #21
« on: December 28, 2011, 12:12:36 PM »
blessOTMA Offline
Velikye Knyaz
****
Tell me the truth, monsieur Posts: 2350

View Profile WWW

An obvious fake. Observing its auctions I have since that offering and prices are diminished . We hope in the end of these dishonest sales
Indeed and the prices have come down, so word must be getting out thankfully. 
Logged


"Give my love to all who remember me."

  Olga Nikolaevna
Reply #22
« on: December 29, 2011, 05:05:08 AM »
GrandDuchessIsabelle Offline
Boyar
**
Posts: 129

View Profile

I have just looked and some body is paying $76 for a very well known photo of Maria N, not including p&p.
Even odder, is that the seller has a 98.8% positive rating. How could this have happened if he is selling fakes?
Logged

'Olga is hitting Maria, and Maria is shouting like an idiot. A dragoon and a big idiot.'
Anastasia Nikolaevna 28/10/1914

http://primisafeandsound.tumblr.com/
Reply #23
« on: December 29, 2011, 11:53:53 AM »
clockworkgirl21 Online
Velikye Knyaz
****
Posts: 2609

View Profile

He's now selling photos with "autographs!" That's risky. People would notice the autograph ink wasn't from a pen, but from the same ink as the rest of the image.
Logged

Reply #24
« on: December 29, 2011, 03:16:15 PM »
blessOTMA Offline
Velikye Knyaz
****
Tell me the truth, monsieur Posts: 2350

View Profile WWW

I have just looked and some body is paying $76 for a very well known photo of Maria N, not including p&p.
Even odder, is that the seller has a 98.8% positive rating. How could this have happened if he is selling fakes?
lol no one wants to admit it ...or risk a negative rating in return? Also never underestimate the power of bold lying.
People think it must be real photos , because none would dare to lie so openly. But the seller  has  gotten sloppy  lately. Before they were careful not to offer  so many at once or copies  of the same photos close together in time. The Olga and Marie in thier uniforms were offered not long ago...and as I say, the Marie photo has the same" scratches" to fake  age. 
Logged


"Give my love to all who remember me."

  Olga Nikolaevna
Reply #25
« on: December 30, 2011, 08:31:51 AM »
Forum Admin Offline
Administrator
Velikye Knyaz
*****
www.alexanderpalace.org Posts: 4334

View Profile WWW

I checked OceanicVoyager's ebay feedback rating as I wondered the same thing.  It seems he sells a lot of innocuous regular items to actually increase the positive feedback rating!

It seems his game is up and the word is spreading that his photos are all fakes.
Logged
Reply #26
« on: December 30, 2011, 09:33:49 AM »
Eddie_uk Offline
Velikye Knyaz
****
Posts: 2935

View Profile

I did fire off a few messages to his previous buyers informing them he was clearly selling fakes & to be aware, most replied saying they where aware of it.
Perhaps they where the buyers of regular legitimate items......
Logged

Grief is the price we pay for love.

FREE PALESTINE.
Reply #27
« on: December 30, 2011, 08:42:56 PM »
blessOTMA Offline
Velikye Knyaz
****
Tell me the truth, monsieur Posts: 2350

View Profile WWW

A photo of Anastasia recently sold for over 400.00  and another copy of this photo is now for sale that looks exactly the same
Logged


"Give my love to all who remember me."

  Olga Nikolaevna
Reply #28
« on: December 31, 2011, 03:17:40 AM »
GrandDuchessIsabelle Offline
Boyar
**
Posts: 129

View Profile

I am pleased to say that no one has, as yet, placed a bid for this:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Antique-Russian-Photo-Tsar-Nicholas-II-Tsarina-Alexandra-Family-Romanov-Framed-/220907281083?pt=Antiques_Decorative_Arts&hash=item3

$1,499.99?Huh
Logged

'Olga is hitting Maria, and Maria is shouting like an idiot. A dragoon and a big idiot.'
Anastasia Nikolaevna 28/10/1914

http://primisafeandsound.tumblr.com/
Reply #29
« on: January 05, 2013, 04:31:30 AM »
Chris_H Offline
Boyar
**
Posts: 119

View Profile

I looked at this seller after reading this and there is, besides many "antique" pictures, a large silver ring with the imperial eagle on it, which is also listed as antique and rare....
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Website by Pallasart - Austin Web Design