An article on the history of these autochromes - Coutau-Begarie's may be from the collection of Lukomskii that was taken out of Russia c1918 - fascinating part is that there were 843 black and white photos and 83 color slides.
3 autochromes in the collection of the Tsarskoe Selo Museum State Preserve:http://www.taday.ru/data/2012/07/16/1233914172/Palisandrovaja_gostinaja.jpghttp://www.taday.ru/data/2012/07/16/1233914174/Klenovaja_gostinaja.jpghttp://www.taday.ru/data/2012/07/16/1233914168/Anfilada_AD.jpg
Transliteral of article:
The museum-reserve "Tsarskoye Selo" contains a unique color transparencies on glass, made in 1917 - one of the first color images have appeared in the art of photography. The story of this collection is very interesting, as well as no less valuable information on the time and purpose of its manufacture.
After the February Revolution, in the period of incarceration of the royal family of the Tsarskoye Selo, the Commissariat of the Republic of properties, replacing the Ministry of Court, a commission for receiving and recording equipment of the Tsarskoye Selo Palace Administration in November 1917 renamed the Kunsthistorisches. The Commission, headed by George K. Lukomski, was to describe works of art and to organize their security.
Four hours after the departure of the family of Nicholas II, Lukomski, as Chairman of the receipt and accounting of property of the Tsarskoye Selo palace management took the Alexander Palace. At the same time, realizing the value of commemorative items, trusted him, he filed a petition to the Commissioner of the Provisional Government of the former Ministry of Court and paying Golovin: "For better cataloging of inventory that has artistic value, it would seem desirable to photograph all of the most valuable items in the palaces, as well as securing for posterity and science of order and type of arrangement of furniture in 1917, that is, at the time of the end of the Russian monarchy ".
For this purpose, was invited by the former stables, Colonel Andrei Zeest photographer, who agreed to perform the proposed work on the condition that he would be given ready-made material. Zeest by this time was already elderly, have poor health, and could not "endure for a photographic apparatus and equipment for shooting." June 3, 1917 Lukomski addressed to the Commissioner of the Commission of the Provisional Government to the Baron, BL Steinheil with a request for the provision of a retired officer, stables, AA Zeestu "the crew of the Stables Office of the Provisional Government", as this right was denied due to retirement. The request was granted.
Materials for the work, which included color pictures of interiors, decorative arts and paintings in the Catherine and Alexander Palaces, made of glass, put the Petrograd branch of the photographic firm «I. Steffen and K ', which existed from 1882, which was located on the streets of Kazan, 5. Through this same firm was acquired and the necessary chemicals for the developer has already captured images.
According to the notice to the Zeesta on May 25, 1917, the party was received at the Autochrome plates of different sizes from 4.5 x 10.7 cm to 18 x 24 cm It is also noted that the records had long been on the road and return overdue but when held against them experience, were "still quite suitable for consumption." Photographer for prescribing plates measuring 9 x 12 cm
Already on October 11, in the explanatory note accompanying the bills paid, Lukomski his signature certified that all necessary for the Commission in the amount of color images of 140 pieces and are made in the Office. For work performed Zeestu photographer was paid 500 rubles, according to the contract.
Contemporaries recognized that the work undertaken by the Commission, as well as directly GK Lukomski, was of great importance in protecting the palace from its full looting and preserve priceless art treasures: in contrast to the Great Palace, Tsarskoye Selo, where the imperial apartments were removed from the later things in the Alexander Palace, nothing has changed. The Commission insisted on the creation of a museum in the private apartments of the family of Nicholas II, despite the fact that the Bolsheviks, headed by Lunacharsky is not recognizing their historical value, asserted that "there can be none of those historical objects, which touched any of the family of the last Emperor ". At the insistence of the Commission had decided to retain the authentic decoration of these rooms.
Later, the most important things in an artistic sense of the Alexander Palace, including those made by Faberge, along with other collections of suburban palaces were sent to Moscow, and some of the values passed to the chambers of the Winter Palace and the State Depository. Correspondence and telegrams of the Emperor Nicholas II, were sent to the State Archives. Things from the Children's half were moved to the Catherine Palace of child care centers or handed over to Tsarskoye Selo, in connection with the proposed placement on the second floor of the Alexander Palace children's colonies.
Interested in the fate of a unique collection of autochrome. From the materials fund Manuscripts Museum "Tsarskoye Selo" is well known that in November 1918, upon acceptance by the former Minister is the Chairman of Art and Historical Commission, GK Lukomski, revealed that eight hundred forty-three shot with black and white negatives and eighty-three color slides were transferred to them Book Publishing "kopeck" to play in a private edition. Pictures intended to withdraw from publishing houses and transfer to storage Detskoselsky Property Management Art of the Northern District. It could not be implemented because it is known that Lukomski emigrated from the country and took them with him.
Part of a collection of colored autochrome is now in the museum-reserve "Tsarskoye Selo" and involves himself forty two images. Thirty of them in 1968 were purchased by the museum from the heirs of Colonel AA Photographer Zeesta and twelve - in 1958, donated the palace of the British tourist, a member of the Oxford Union G. Barratt. This suggests that the plates, donated, were among the exported Lukomskii as it is known that the latter end of his life living abroad.
In June of 2012 at an auction Olivier Coutau Bėgarie museum acquired another 48 autochrome with the views of Big Tsarskoye Selo, and that is especially valuable, Alexander Palace, probably also from the number of exported GK Lukomskii.
The preserved part of the collection gives an indication not only of high artistic level of work performed. Autochrome interiors with views of the palaces of Tsarskoe Selo, in the first place, Alexander, and memorial items, fills them, are a unique material that allows to see the documentary precision and recreate the life and experiences of the last emperor of the family for generations.