Discussions about Russian History > Rasputin

Stabbing of Rasputin in 1914

(1/6) > >>

Grigorevna:
Hi everyone!
I am a Newbie on this forum, but has been fascinated by the Romanovs and Gregory Efimovich for the last 15 years. I have bought an read heaps of books. Some really good - but a frightful lot of terrible junk. And people still belive it! Good to find this forum!!!

Anyhow - Gregory Efimovich was stabbed in 1914 in his homevillage. I have read a cuple of versions on who did it - one that it was carried out by one of his followers. Another that Illidor had it done. Any other information on this?

I have also read (somewere) that it occured when G.E was on his way to answer a telegram sent from Tsarskoe Selo. Does anyone of you have any more specific knowledge on the happenings around this deed?

Gigorevna

Laura Mabee:
Welcome to the forum Grigorevna!
I have heard briefly about him being stabbed in 1914 but I never got to hear all the theories. Would you, or someone, be willing to write them all down? From start to finish. I would like to know the reasons behind it, especially from his follower (if that one holds true)

Cheers  :)

Grigorevna:
Hi!
Well, these are briefly the versions I recollect from different books:

He was stabbed in the summer of 1914, just weeks before the war broke out. He had had earlier that year had some kind of a fallout with Nicholas II because of his views on the war (totally against it) and had therfore been sent back to Pokrovskoye - apparently against Alexandras will.

The first version I have heard is that he was stabbed so he wouldnt go back to Petersburg and talk Nicholas into NOT joining the war.

The second version - far most qouted - i read in Massies Nicholaus and Alexandra: That he had been stabbed on 27/6 (os) by a Kina Gusseva - follower of Illidor. She screamed that she had killed Anti-Chist and then tried to kill herself.